Scorsese for American Riviera Award

Looking at all the awards that they give to film-makers like Martin Scorsese for recognizing their contribution to art and cinema, I believe it is still not enough. But, an award is an award, whether it’s small or big.  What matters the most is when your hard work and dedication in that field is being recognized by others. I am sure Mr. Scorsese’s hand is not new to holding a statue, but it is his turn now to receive the American Riviera Award on January 30th, 2012 at the 27th Santa Barbara Film International Festival. A special tribute to the true master of cinema. Last year, it was Mr. Leanardo DiCaprio who presented the Master Award to Mr. Christopher Nolan. The American Riviera Award is going to be the first time the fest is giving a film director whose passion, hardwork, and contribution has a huge influence on American Cinema. Previous recipients include Diane Lane (2004), Kevin Bacon (2005), Philip Seymour Hoffman (2006), Forrest Whitaker (2007), Tommy Lee Jones (2008), Mickey Rourke (2009), Sandra Bullock (2010), and Annette Bening (2011).

Mr. Martin Scorsese’s list of films includes films that are all unforgettable. He is the man behind classics like Taxi Driver, Mean Streets, Raging Bull, Casino, Goodfellas, Gangs of New York, The Aviator, Shutter Island. He is a 7 time Academy Award nominee and in 2007, he received his first Academy Award for “The Departed.” Scorsese also won the Golden Lion from the Venice Film Festival (1995), the AFI Life Achievement Award (1997), was honored with the Film Society of Lincoln Center’s 25th Gala Tribute (1998), the DGA Lifetime Achievement Award (2003), The Kennedy Center Honors (2007) and the HFPA Cecil B. DeMille Award (2010).

From Masters of Cinema, we congratulate Mr. Martin Scorsese for recieving this priceless honor. And, we would like to thank him for his hardwork for bringing us outstanding films with great stories that has inspired us in many ways.

Thanks to Anne Thompson of Thompson on Hollywood for the article.